Skip to content

Condemned to the Slushpile

21 April, 2015
nasty slushpilejpg

 

It was hard to believe some of the entries were legit in the book, Something Nasty in the Slushpile: How not to get published. The Web provides so much information about writing and submitting a book proposal.  So I thought employees working in the publisher’s slushpile would no longer find anything odd.

I was wrong, as shown by this book’s many examples of writers’ failed attempts to interest a publisher. E.g.:

  • Asking which of three book ideas the publisher would like to publish first ‘so I can allocate my time most efficiently.’
  • Asserting that having no previous writing experience is not a drawback because the manuscript is ‘written basically from my own experiences [so] it will be uniquely a one-off.’
  • Explaining that with 15 books written and  22 more planned, ‘over time I will be as celebrated as J.K. Rowling, so it’s going to be in your best interests to sign me up right now.’
  • Assuring that this first book will be a success because ‘the collective unconscious is currently ready to receive it warmly.’
  • Admitting to having never  tried writing a book before, but now ‘I really am going to give this a go . . . . ‘
  • Enclosing 30 pages of a novel, plus this comment: ’Before you start, I should warn you that it is no great literary masterpiece or creative magnus opus.’
  • Suggesting another person’s book idea, e.g., a grandparent describing a grandson’s ‘riveting’ emails, written during his gap year (a year of travel, between high school and university or job).

Make a positive first impression

  • Would you like to join me on my journey to hell and back?
  • I proudly hereby submit a PowerPoint presentation of my first book.
  • You’ll be pleased to hear that . . . in . . . paperback format, this book [will have] 57,691 words, 34 tables, 95 figures, front and back jacket, total 354 pages.
  • . . . I will need use a text editor [because] my English is not very ideal. There is work to do. But brilliant stories will always shine.

Even worse

  • The submission arrives in a parcel wrapped in plastic, sealed with duct tape and covered with information about security checks. It contains a book proposal, spiral-bound and wrapped in both cardboard and sheets of tracing paper. Title: On the Brink: Five steps to madness.
  • Inside a large envelope are five supermarket plastic bags, each tied in a triple knot, plus the bags are bound together by an elastic band. After untying all the bags, staff find a cover letter, put together as a collage.

Be credible and professional

  • If it would expedite matters, I’ll supply a CV—although it’s not going to be utterly truthful for reasons that will be obvious from my submission synopsis, which I admit isn’t very informative.
  • . . . I have a great deal of experience as a reader and . . . have paid good money for books that turned out to be considerably worse than the one I would like you to consider . . . .
  • I have a rickety past. I lived life; indeed, I still do.
  • . . . I already have other ideas for other future books. All I will tell you at this stage is that the name of the next book begins with the Letter S.

Explain the unique selling point

  • This is . . . the greatest story ever told, and if you don’t . . . want to publish it you’ll eternally rue the day you turned it down.
  • If . . . forced to compare it to some other book . . . I would say it could be similar to Eat, Pray, Love . . . but it’s much, much better.

Identify the readership 

  • My cookery book is designed for anyone interested in food or eating.
  • This topic . . . is now crucial reading for the general public . . . indeed to virtually, almost, everyone on two legs.
  • This would appeal to the crossover between . . . that group of readers . . . interested in cryptography and the lovers of baroque architecture.
  • [N]early every single living, breathing person in the world will want to read this book!
Source:  Sammy Looker [pseudonym]. Something Nasty in the Slushpile. 2014. Constable, UK.

 

No comments yet

What do you think?