Skip to content

Writing prompt 1: Be the Rain

24 November, 2007

PART 1: Emily Hanlon, writer and writing mentor, provides this writing prompt on her blog, The Fiction Writer’s Journey. She suggests writing about a natural event (rain) and using different points of view:

Be the rain falling on your skin…

Write from the rain’s point of view.
Write from your skin’s point of view.
Write from your point of view.
Write from the point of view of someone who is angry.
Write from the point of view of someone who is in love.
Write from the point of view of a child.

Be the rain falling on your skin….

PART 2: I took the idea of rain and played around with it for my daily page of freewriting. It took me back to memories of childhood, the Kansas thunderstorms that rolled in on a summer’s evening; playing in the overflowing gutters by making miniature boats of twigs with snail passengers; the light drizzle in an Oregon valley; the amazing downpours each night during The Wet in Far North Queensland.

Using the word ‘rain’, conjure up in writing the various kinds of rain and rain-events you’ve experienced.

When you’ve finished, ask yourself what could be used in a story or to start a story.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marsha Durham permalink
    4 December, 2007 7:52 am

    Hi Tom, I’m not Emily, but I quoted from her blog because I liked the prompt. I hope you write back sometime and tell more about your novel and especially how you’re going about it. Marsha

    Like

  2. tom4956 permalink
    4 December, 2007 4:47 am

    Dear Emily:
    I’m just starting to write a short novel. I read over your points of view on the rain. Its an interesting concept. I’m going to try and think that way when I add line to my novel.
    Thank you for the blog
    Tom Roche
    tom4956@excite.com

    Like

What do you think?